This is a feature designed to prevent anyone else from using your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch if it ever lost or stolen.

When you turn on find my [device] the activation look turn on automatically.

It helps you keep your device secure, even though if it is in the wrong hands, and can improve your chances of recovering it.

If you erase your device remotely activation lock can continue to detect anyone from reactivating your device without your permission.

You need to do 2 things for this one turn on Find my [device] and remember your Apple ID and password.

You can use an activation lock to protect your Apple Watch with watch OS 2 and later.

You can also use an activation lock to protect your Mac with macOS Cataline and Mac computers that having Apple T2 security chip.

Table of contents

  • Disable your Activation lock on an iPhone or iPad
  • Three Apple connected choices
  • IDG
  • When the device lost or stolen
  • If your Apple ID or Password forgot
  • Check for Activation lock when you buy a device from someone
  • Things to remember before you give away your device or send it for service

 Disable your activation lock on an iPhone or iPad

Apple added activation lock many years back to its iPhones as a theft deterrent, some part on the request of users, and some more than a result of law enforcement insisted it could down the incentive or motivation for grab-and-run- theft.

The idea or concept was that even if an iPhone was stolen and wiped, the device or machine would reject to allow new installation without the Apple ID and password for the account that registered initially it being out there to unlock it.

To turn on activation lock

  • Find My in settings > account > iCloud.
  • For disabling the Find My requires the same Apple ID login that turned it on.
  • The devices with this facility were on iPad, iPod touch, Apple Watch, and any Mac with a T2 security chip that allows Touch ID and other features.
  • Use the iCloud preference pane in macOS 10.14 Mojave on a Mac and at the beginning the Apple ID preference pane starting in 10. 15 Catalina.

An issue:

A problem arises constantly, including in our mailbag. If the owner or original person who enables Find My is not available for any reason, the mobile either can’t erase, can’t use effectively or it becomes or made into a brick when wiped.

This may be happened because of bringing a phone from someone who didn’t turn off Find My, a former worker or employee’s company device use that person’s Apple ID account [and maybe they left on serious phrases or no longer reachable],

The owner expires or improved cognitive impairment or even you–properly let us say some of them–can’t bear or remember your Apple ID password and cannot use recovery methods to reset it, identical with an older device and account.

Apple gives a rundown on how to make sure you don’t purchase a device that’s locked.

While some doubtful third parties claim they will break activation lock without, it involves doubtful or outright illegal methods, although both criminals and folks with legitimate ownership could try to make use of this technique.

Three Apple connected choices

Only three Apple connected choices are certain to work:

  • Have the Apple ID account holder and enter their password immediately into the device.
  • If they are unavailable or it’s simpler, the account holder can log in to find me at iCloud.com or one in every of their linked devices and take away the affected devices.
  • That disables activation lock too.
  • Failing all that, the unique or original owner can consult an Apple store, Apple support or help, or an Apple-allowed third-party service facility and reseller and provide a receipt displaying their name, the device, date of purchase, and device serial quantity.

IDG

You can probably take away a tool from Find My via iCloud.com, too, turning off activation lock remotely.

Apple didn’t promote this last choice, and it slowly works for the unique seller.

I have heard from single persons who have misplaced relations, like a mom, dad, or grandparent, and been unable or not able to unlock a tool even with a dying certificate and recognized proof that they had the correct and the unique receipt because they were not the unique heir.

Within the case of a previous employee at the place you are accountable for trying to unlock a company-owned device, and you will attain or don’t wish to get in contact with the ex-employee, a company receipt may away.

Higher, however, to be sure that all the devices which can return were unlocked by a worker once they move away, laid off, or fired. Although they have to show within the gear and join one merchandise to the guidelines.

When the device lost or stolen

if you feel you misplace your device whether you think it’s stolen or you think it’s lost you should quickly use the mark as lost in the find my app.

When your mark has lost, it locks your screen with a passcode and lets you display a custom message with your mobile number to help you get it back.

You can formally erase your device if needed, and even after the device erased your custom message continues to display.

In the background your activation lock performs so, it makes it difficult for someone who uses your device or even sell your missing device. It clearly shows lost mode to anyone who finds your device that it still belongs to you and cannot reactivate it without your password.

To note a device as lost, use the find my app or sign in iCloud.com/find:

  1. Go to find my app.
  2. Click the devices tab, then select a device from the list.
  3. Click activate under mark as lost and follow the guidelines on the screen.

If your Apple ID or Password forgot

  • To sign in to all your Apple services, you use your Apple ID as the account. Commonly, your Apple ID is your mail address.
  • We can help you find your Apple ID if you forget it.
  • If you lost or forget your password, you can reset it from your device or your Apple ID account page.
  • If you can’t reset your password or find your Apple ID, you will lose access to your account and may not reactivate or use your device.
  • To help eradicate this, see your Apple ID account page cyclically to review and update your account information.

Check for Activation lock when you buy a device from someone

When you are planning to buy an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch from other than Apple or a recognized Apple reseller, be sure they erase the device and no longer linked to the before owner’s account.

Ask the one who is selling it whether they have turned off activation lock, then follow the below steps:
  1. Enable the device and slide to unlock.
  2. If the home screen or passcode lock screen appears, the device has not been erased.
  3. Ask the giver to completely erase the device by going to settings > general > reset > erase all content and settings.
  4. Until they have erased it doesn’t take the ownership of any used iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch until erased.
  5. Start the device setup process.
  6. If the device asked for the before owner’s Apple ID and password, the device still linked to their account.
  7. Give the device to the seller and ask him to enter their password.
  8. If the before owner was not present, they can remove the device from their account by signing in iCloud.com/find.
  9. Until they have removed it from the previous owner’s account and don’t take ownership of any used iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch.
  10. You can know that a device is ready for you to use when you are asked to “set up iPhone”, “set up your iPad”, or “set up your iPod” the first time you enable it.

If you are one of them to buy a device, that’s still linked to a previous owner’s account, then contact them as soon as possible and ask them to remove it from their account and erase the device.

Things to remember before you give away your device or send it for service

Before you give it away or send it for repair, make sure you disable find my [device] on your device.

Otherwise, you face a problem if your device is locked and anyone that you give the device to can’t make use of it properly and Apple technicians can’t perform service repairs.

First, sign out of iCloud and then erase all content and settings.

Now it completely erases your device, removes it from your Apple ID, and disable Find My.

In iOS 10.3 or previous:
  1. Click settings > [your name]
  2. Drag down and click sign out
  3. Enter your Apple ID password and press turn off
  4. Go back to settings
  5. Click general–reset–erase all content and settings
In iOS 10.2 or latest:
  1. Click settings > iCloud
  2. Drag down and click sign out > sign out
  3. Click delete from my iPhone and enter your password
  4. Go back to settings.
  5. Click general–reset–erase all content and settings