One of the impressive thoughts about your Mac’s messages App is that it stores all your text and messages.

If you think you lost any message or important information from your iPhone, iPad then you can recollect those from your message App Archive.

But it’s a dual-edged sword, both positive and a negative like our life.

When storing messages in history indefinitely it is not desirable or safe. We need to delete our sensitive text messages so that we feel comfortable that other people cannot read our messages.

If you are new or long-time using Mac consumer, then surely know about the key Delete.

Technically called “backward delete”. Different languages have a pattern of learning left to right. You can locate this on your keyboard or a left-pointing arrow is seen.

Bad luck, present there is no option to auto-delete your logs of message apps after a few days. But Apple offers some solutions to help us remove all those texts.

Here in this guide, we will discuss a lot of new things regarding the deletion of text and messages. Keep on reading!

Table of contents

  •  How to delete text in all possible ways on your Mac?
  • How to delete iMessages on your Mac, including multiple messages.
  •  Quick way to delete one or more conversations of yours
  •  How to delete messages automatically on Mac?
  • How to clear messages without closing your conversation?
  •  How to delete permanently all your messages App chat history?

How to delete text in all possible ways on your Mac?

Extended keyboards: you find a forward delete option and also labeled as Delete or Del and also a symbol is shown on it. When you press this the right side of the characters from the insertion point deleted.

Compact keyboards: on laptops and macOS you can create a forward-delete action by pressing the Function key [fn] and the Delete key is usually used for backward delete.

Few other deletion helpers: [may be few of this keyboard commands may not work in the software you are using]
  • For forward or backward delete adds an option key [including fn option], at a time macOS deletes a word.
  • For backward and forward delete use control-H and control-D as a substitute.
  • To delete everything from the insertion point to the end of the line control-K will help us.
  • Some software interrupts that as the end of the paragraph it means the next point in the document or email at which you pressed the return key.
  • another software is more literal and deletes only the characters on the same line.
  • Unfortunately, macOS removes Control-U in which terminal shells deletes everything from the insertion point to the start of the line, it is a useful complement to control-K.

How to delete iMessages on your Mac, including multiple messages.

Follow the steps:

1. Launch message app

2. Select the conversation where you want to delete a message

If you turn on the messages in iCloud, then part of a conversation or delete a conversation on your mac also delete it from all of your devices wherein iCloud the messages turned on and signed in with the same Apple ID.

Deleting entire conversation

1. choose the conversation which you want to delete.

2. Select the file > delete conversation or [command+delete] or right-click and select delete conversation.

3. In trackpads or Magic Mice in the sidebar, swipe left with two fingers on the conversation and select delete.

4. Again, at the conformation pop-up choice

Delete part of the conversation

1. Locate and click on the specific text that you want to remove.

2. Make sure you select the whole text, not just the text within it.

3. To add additional text selections, press the command+click.

4. Your selections highlighted.

5. Right-click or control-click and from the drop-down menu select delete.

6. If the delete option is not visible, then you selected the text rather than the message bubble.

7. Your Mac makes a conformation from you that to delete this message or not and remind you that that the selected action undone.

8. Select the delete option.

9. In your app Mac, the macOS deletes those message selections from the messages app.

Quick way to delete one or more conversations of yours

The left side of your message App window selects an entire conversation thread. Then hold the option+command keys and press the delete key. It removes the conversation that you selected.

If you desire, you can remove the remaining conversations by keeping on pressing option+command along with the delete key. By this, you can remove the step-by-step next conversations.

One thing you have to keep in mind that the messages you are deleting are permanently deleted so make it sure that you really want those are not.

What we can do if Option+command+delete not works?

Good question! Actually, on high sierra 10.13.5 and above this method is not working.

Few of our readers noticed it. For this Apple made a change with introducing messages in the iCloud because when you enable Messages in iCloud then all your messages automatically delete across connected devices.

Alternate commands:

  • Option+command+K if you use this command before deleting each conversation it shows a confirmation. So, it was sure not convenient.
  •  Command + delete for this also you receive a similar confirmation message.
  • Please contact Apple for your feedback if this removal bothers you.

How to delete messages automatically on Mac?

On, a schedule if you want to remove your older messages in Mac then there is an option in your message preferences to delete messages either every 30 days or every year.

1. Tap on messages

2. Go to preferences

3. Select General

4. Below the keep, messages select either 30 days or one year to set-up automatic delete.

5. Other than forever when you choose an option then your conversation including photos, videos, documents, GIFs, etc will automatically be deleted after the time you specified is over.

How to clear messages without closing your conversation?

Some times it makes it difficult to remove all the text inside the conversation while keeping a conversation open.

For guys who spend a lot of group messages or have a lot of recipients in a conversation, it makes sense to remove the content rather than compose a new conversation.

Good to hear now that it was very simple to clear your conversation on your Mac!

Steps to do that:

1. From your messages, the App list selects the entire conversation.

2. Select Edit > clear Transcript from the top menu of the Message App

3. Pick option+command+K for guys who love keyboard shortcuts.

4. A shortcut to clear a chat transcript is to select an open conversation and press control-click or right-click anywhere in the blank space.

How to delete permanently all your messages from App chat history?

Till now we observe the steps to prevent guys from seeing your messages from inside the app, but what about the archived, cached, and stores messages app data?

To do this, we can move to our favorite macOS and OS X friend, our Finder.

Steps to do that:

1. Got to messages > preferences > accounts and sign out of messages

a. Sign out from your Apple ID

b. Turn off other accounts like bonjour or google talk by switching on enable this account [unmark the check boxes]

2. If the messaging app is open, please close it.

3. Launch Finder and Go > Go to the folder or hold command + shift + G.

4. Type ~/library/Messages in the search box and press enter. It opens your user message App library.

5. Trace and select these files: chat.db, chat.db-shm, chat.db-wal and two folders Archive and attachments

a. If you didn’t locate these files or folders then instead of using Go to folder check the following location ~/library/containers/com.apple.iChat/data/library/messages.

b. You find an attachment folder contains all images, Gifs, videos, pdf, and other files sent by you or sent to you.

c. If desired, save this folder anywhere.

6. Move the above-shown files and folders to your trash or place them in a new folder on the desktop or somewhere.

7. Restart your mac

8. When you launch it next time remember to sign back into messages.

9. A message is visible like this “the messages database is upgrading please wait while it finishes or quit messages and relaunch it later.”

Now restart your Mac, then open messages again.

Few hours after if it still shows this message do the following:

1. Tap quit messages

2. Open the terminal and use the command kill the IMDPersistence agent.

3. Go to ~/library/messages folder, check it, and remove any files with messages, iMessages, or iChat in the name.

4. Or use terminal command rm -rf ~/library/messages

5. Using the command kill all cfprefsd clear the preference cache by opening terminal again.

6. Restart it.

7. Now open the messaging app again and to set up it follow the on-screen instructions.

Reader Tips